Help: Frequently Asked Questions

What are user roles like Owner, Manager, Friend and Employee?

Each employee or user of Instore has a role applied to his or her account. The role determines the access-level the user will have to features and areas of the office backend and iPad point of sale. Following is an overview of permissions for the user roles.

A super owner is the only role that cannot be currently changed or set. It is only assigned for the email address which originally created the account.

Role Access to all locations Access to view sales and reports Access to view and edit menu Ability to add a user Access to view other employee information Access to edit other employee information Ability to view other employee payroll Access to Settings Area
Super Owner Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Owner Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Only for managers, employees, and friends Yes Yes
Manager No, only locations to which he or she belongs Yes, for locations he or she manages Yes, for locations he or she manages No Yes, only for locations to which he or she belongs. Yes, only for employees. Cannot edit other managers or owners. No No
Employee No, only locations to which he or she belongs No No No Yes No No No
Friend No, only locations to which he or she belongs Yes, only locations to which he or she belongs No No Yes No No No